Beatrice Fishback – ‘Birthing A Book’

BeaWelcome to Beatrice Fishback, whose new Victorian-set romantic novel Bethel Manor is just out from Crooked Cat Publishing. She has put together an interesting post about the joys and difficulties in writing a book. To buy a copy please click on a book cover below. Over to you, Bea…

What happens when you finally birth that baby? Your first book, I mean.

Although I’ve been published in the non-fiction world, had numerous articles and stories in compilations and magazines, Bethel Manor, an inspirational Victorian romance, is the first fiction piece I’ve had released. I learned so much from those other experiences, but the launch of Bethel Manor has brought on a whole new world of emotions I never expected.

It reminds me of when I learned I was pregnant with our firstborn. I didn’t really believe women when they said it could be difficult. I ignored the warnings that pain would definitely come during labor. After all, this was me. I would rise above the occasion, and be stronger and braver than those who went before.

But I soon discovered that those who endured labor were right. And those who’ve written novels were correct, too. Let me give you four valuable lessons I’ve learned during the delivery process of my book:

  •  Just like childbirth, I can attest to the pain. It is labor intensive to write 80,000 + words and when you’ve reached the first 10,000 you wonder if you can endure any more contraction.
  •  I guarantee it will be more work after it’s born than when you first conceived it. You might not believe me, but there is a lot of work to be done after you’ve managed to write your book. There is marketing, promoting, encouraging and any other ‘ing’ you can think of to make the world aware that you’ve birthed this grand idea.
  • You want the world to think your newborn is as adorable and cute as you do. You carry your book with you, and like a doting parent you show anyone you meet your masterpiece. You coo about how sweet the storyline is and what wonderful characters romp around in its chapters. No one could possibly love your novel more than you do, but you sure hope others are willing to take a chance and read it.
  • You desire that it will grow and mature. And as it does, you hope and pray it will discover a life of its own. Every writer dreams their book will be the next New York Times bestseller, or that at least others besides their mother and father will brag about this book.

Okay, so delivering a baby might be just a tad more difficult than writing your first novel. And you might not believe me when I say it’s a whole lot harder than you think. If nothing else, maybe you’ll remember I warned you when you decided to try writing something yourself. One final thought. Having a child is the most amazing thing in the world. So is your first book. So take a chance and start with one word. You’ll be so glad you did. In fact, I’m working on the sequel to Bethel Manor. Having birthed one, I’m ready to start on another.

By the way, could you stop by Amazon.com and order your copy of Bethel Manor today? I don’t want my darling to grow up and you never having a chance to read her.

Bethel Manor

Extract from Bethel Manor:

(Protagonist, Clare Shaw is speaking to her father)

“Father. Men are all the same. They think a woman is purely for child bearing and maintaining a home. I’m pleased that you understand a woman needs to be educated as well as a man and allow me access to your books and manuals. I’d go mad if you didn’t.” She patted the book now resting on her lap.

“Could you at least show a bit of interest in James? He looks as if he feels awkward and out of place.”

“He is awkward. And he’s definitely out of place. Besides, why should I bother to get to know him?” She rolled her eyes. “He’ll be gone in a day or two, and most likely we’ll never see him again. It’s very kind of you to want to help strangers, but…”

“But?”

“Well, honestly, he is one of the skinniest young men I’ve ever seen. His cheeks are concave, and his coloring looks like the sheets flapping on a line in the wind.” She brushed her fingers in the air as if dismissing James’s presence in the house with the move of her hand, and then picked up her book.

Bethel Manor
Leave a Reply

