Author Interview: Charlotte Howard

One Night in Edinburghby Charlotte Howard - sm banner

 

I’d like to welcome Charlotte Howard, fellow Tirgearr author, whose latest book, One Night in Edinburgh, is next in the ‘City Nights’ series, following Jaz Hartfield’s One Night in Amsterdam

What romantic themes are explored in One Night in Edinburgh?

One Night in Edinburgh is all about love at first sight, and the difference between lust and love. We’ve all been in lust, and most of us are lucky enough to have been in love as well, but not many people think love at first sight is possible, which makes me sad because I am a great believer.

Tell us more about your main character’s dilemmas.

Chloe Shade has 24 hours to seduce the CEO of Lowe ‘n Beholden, and convince them that they should stock the selection of adult toys that Chloe’s company produces and sells. Unfortunately, travel arrangements to Edinburgh haven’t taken her fear of flying into account. While she’s on the plane, she meets Ethan – he’s sexy, he’s charming, and he’s able to keep her calm while they land. It’s not long before she ends up in his car, bed, and everywhere else he wants her, and she’s left having to make some life-changing decisions.

Why is the setting so important?

Edinburgh is a beautiful city. I’ve been there a few times, and have loved every minute spent there. I wanted the story to be less about sex and one-night stands, and more to be about romance, and in my opinion Edinburgh castle and The Royal Mile provide that.

Is writing adult romance difficult or fun?

Fun, challenging but fun. I love writing juicy scenes – the heat, the passion, it’s all escapism in one way or another, and I think we need that sometimes. It can be tricky getting the story just right though. I’m terrible with endings. Most of the time I have to take a step back, and tell myself to leave it. It’s like when you’re painting a picture. It would be very easy to add that one detail that is too much and ruins the whole thing, which is why I’m grateful for my amazing editors!

Charlotte Howard
Charlotte Howard

Why did you write this particular book?

I was at Smut by the Sea in Scarborough when I got talking to Lucy Felthouse. She told me about the ‘City Nights’ series and suggested I give it a go. I thought it might be a good challenge – I’ve never written a short erotic romance before. Turns out, I loved every minute of it.

Tell us about your current work in progress.

I’ve just finished working on another full-length novel, which will be published at some point next year (keep an eye on my website www.charlottehowardauthor.co.uk for more details!), and I was going to take a break from writing, but that never works.

My latest WIP is about an English teacher and her affair with a colleague who turns out to be so much more than he seems. It’s another erotic romance, but promises to be hotter than anything I’ve previously written!

Any good marketing tips for other authors?

Don’t be afraid to network. I keep business cards in every handbag (I have a lot of handbags), coat pockets (I have a lot of coats too!), and in my car. If someone asks me about a book, or mentions that they’ve read something slightly erotic, I hand them a card. I’ve also given a pile to people like my Mum, husband, sisters, friends, and they leave them lying around wherever they go. From caravan sites to dentist surgeries, my business cards are everywhere!

Why should people read the ‘City Nights’ series?

It’s hot and it’s unique. Most erotic stories take place over several days, weeks, months, even years! But the ‘City Nights’ series all take place over 12 to 24 hours.

I’m currently reading One Night in Boise, and will be putting a review on my blog: http://www.choward2614.wordpress.com when I’ve done, but one chapter in and I already know it’s going to be 5-stars.

They’re all well written by fabulous authors, and I’m very proud to say I’m part of that group.

Blurb:One Night in Edinburghby Charlotte Howard - 200

Chloe Shade has travelled to Edinburgh to meet up with a potential client, and has just twenty-four hours to convince them to sign her contract. But when she meets the delicious Ethan, he proves to be so much more than an enticing distraction. It’s not long before Chloe has some life changing decisions to make, and less than a day to make them.

Author Bio:

British author, Charlotte Howard, was born in Oman and spent much of the first part of her life flitting between Oman, Scotland, and England. Now settled in Somerset, Charlotte lives with her husband, two children, and growing menagerie of pets.

Her career as a writer began at an early age, with a poem being featured in an anthology for the East Midlands. Since then Charlotte has written many short stories and poems, and finally wrote her first full-length piece of fiction in 2010.

During what little spare time she has, Charlotte enjoys reading and writing (of course), spending time with her family, and watching action movies whilst eating curry and drinking tea.

Charlotte is an active member of Yeovil Creative Writers Group.

Purchase Links:

http://www.tirgearrpublishing.com/authors/Howard_Charlotte/one-night-in-edinburgh.htm

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00P9RTNC0

One Night in Amsterdam by Jaz Hartfield - sm banner

 

Click HERE to purchase ONE NIGHT IN AMSTERDAM  by Jaz Hartfield.

 

One thought on “Author Interview: Charlotte Howard”

Leave a Reply

