Author Interview: Cass Peterson

 

Tirgearr Publishing
Tirgearr Publishing

I’d like to welcome fellow Tirgearr author Cass Peterson to my blog. She has written the next book in the ‘City Nights’ adult romance series, called ‘One Night in San Francisco’. Click here to see more information about the City Nights Series and on the cover image to purchase Cass’ “sizzling” book.

Author Bio:

Cass Peterson is passionate about many things; her family, writing, chocolate, wine, cake, curry, gin, sunlit beaches, moonlit bedrooms and good novels to name but a few. At the moment she spends a good chunk of her time working on the day job, but she tries to fit the other passions in as often as possible.

She is a cat lover, an all-weather walker, a reader and reviewer of contemporary romance and an enthusiastic cook.

Cass likes to laugh, especially at Bill Bailey, Victoria Wood, Michael Palin and Eddie Izzard. She would happily live next door to any of these comedians.

http://casspeterson.co.uk

https://www.facebook.com/cass.peterson.4/

http://www.twitter.com/casspeterson1

San FranWhat are the main ideas or themes in your book?

The main theme is seizing the moment. When Liam and Nicky meet, they instantly know that there could be something very special between them. The chemistry is sizzling, but shortly afterwards they lose sight of each other and have to race against time to reconnect.

What is the setting or context of the narrative? Why is it important?

The story is set against the background of bustling, romantic, electric San Francisco, and it’s crucial to the narrative because the mood of the city runs through the way that the two protagonists react to each other. They are both creatures of impulse, and San Fran completely matches their joy for life and their longing to find both physical and emotional satisfaction at last.

Tell us more about the main characters and their dilemmas.

Both Nicky and Liam have recently emerged from hugely unsuccessful relationships, where the sex was less than mind blowing and the laughs were in short supply. They think they are willing to risk trusting someone new, but there are mountains to climb first. Nicky is deeply conscious of her failure to keep her previous man (who left her for her best friend’s boyfriend.) Liam has also had his fingers burned badly by a manipulative colleague.

Why did you write this novel? Any other issues or ‘big ideas’ behind it?

I have to be honest here – I wrote One Night in San Francisco to see if I could overcome my embarrassment at writing much smuttier books than I was used to. I found I could! It was incredibly liberating. I am very impulsive, like my main characters, and can’t stand hanging around waiting for something to happen. The idea of a twenty four hour limit on the action was inspiring, and San Francisco is one of my all-time favourite places.

How do you go about writing a novel? Is it a simple or complex process?

For me, the day job takes a huge amount of time and energy so I don’t have the luxury of making things complicated. I just get up early and write! Editing the work is one of my favourite occupations, and I do it as I go along each time I write a chapter/section, rather than blast through the first draft and then go back. I’m not good at plotting.

What advice do you have for less experienced writers?

Join a writing group, either in the flesh or online, and learn to accept constructive criticism. Go on a course or two if you can afford the time/money. Keep trying, but only submit your work to agents and publishers when it’s the best it can be.

What are you working on next?

The next project in the erotic romance line is a full-length novel about a single woman searching for great sex. I hope it’ll be funny. It’s making me snigger writing it, anyway!

If you could leave a message to the world, what would it be?

Grab every opportunity that comes your way and run with it, but whatever you do, don’t forget to have fun in the process.

*****

Blurb:

Nicky and Liam have only twenty four short hours to find out if their instantaneous attraction can develop into something more than an electric mile-high fumble. San Francisco has everything they need to put their previous disastrous relationships behind them but when they lose touch with each other almost immediately, fate seems to have other ideas. As the precious hours tick away, Liam moves heaven and earth to find the woman of his (filthiest) dreams before she leaves the city. Will he get to her in time?

Buy links: http://casspeterson.co.uk/books/city-nights-one-night-in-san-francisco/

One Night in San Francisco

Extract:

San Francisco airport was a blur of activity even in the early morning. As we piled off the plane, already jet lagged and dishevelled, we were herded into lines reminiscent of the ones at Alton Towers – zig zags of queues separated by tapes and metal posts, shuffling tiredly towards the perspex booths of hard-faced officials, ready to check our passports.

By this time I was almost comatose – lack of sleep and too much four-o’clock lust had left me bleary and bewildered by the bustle around me. I tried to keep near to Liam but when we reached passport control we somehow lost each other. I saw him in the distance, trying to charm his way past an official who obviously ate razor blades for a hobby, but we didn’t meet again. I waved to him as I was whisked away to have my bag checked – I must have a dodgy face, this always seems to happen to me at customs – and he waved back, mouthing ‘See you later.’

My heart sank. I’d hoped to have chance to talk to him before we went our separate ways, or at least to give him a hug. Never mind, I had his card safely in my bag. I checked again. Yes, still there, tucked into my purse next to the photo of Simon. I shook myself. Why was I still carrying around a picture of a man who had clearly moved out of my life?

I slid the tiny picture out of my purse and looked at it closely. Simon grinned up at me from his photograph – handsome, cheerful … and a complete and utter tosser. There were no litter bins to be seen but I noticed a man sweeping rubbish nearby. After a moment’s hesitation I ripped up the photo and dropped the pieces into his bin liner. He looked at me as if I’d spat on the floor but I didn’t care. A wave of freedom washed over me – who needed men that treated you like dirt? I’d ring Liam as soon as I thought he’d be clear of his work ties.

I frowned as I shuffled forwards in the queue. For the first time I realised I hadn’t offered Liam my own number. It would have made a whole lot more sense for him to phone me when he was through. Oh well, it was too late now. I’d give him till half past ten – that should do it.

Tirgearr

The next book in the series will be One Night in Amsterdam by Jaz Hartfield who will be interviewed on this blog in October 2014.

One Night in Amsterdam by Jaz Hartfield - 500

Leave a Reply

